{Autumn is here: Bosc Pear & Glazed Pecan Salad}

Servings: 2

Summary: 

I love Autumn flavors. Moreover I love Thanksgiving…I know it’s a little early for this post…but this salad brings together my favorite Autumn ingredients: juicy Bosc pears, glazed pecans & dried cranberries. However, I also love to add red onion slices into my salads because I feel it brings them to life. It’s both tangy and spicy; which contrasts nicely with the sweetness from the pears. I usually make this salad vegan but my husband loves to add goat cheese to it…so go ahead and add a creamy component into the salad if you wish! Finding easy, healthy and savory salad recipes can sometimes be hard…and finding a single or double servings can be harder. So my salad makes enough for 2 side dishes/appetizers or as 2 main salads if served with a good source of protein (my favorite is fresh salmon). I make it for myself, eat it as a salad one day and as a lovely lunch quesadilla the next day (I’ll post the second recipe later on…and I promise you’ll love it). So without further mumbling here’s my recipe:
Ingredients:

4 cups Spinach or mesclun leaves
3-4 slices small red onion, thinly sliced
1/4 cup roasted & glazed pecans, chopped
1 1/2 tbsp organic dried cranberries, finely chopped
1/2 Bosch pear, finely sliced
herbed goat cheese, optional – sprinkle some on each individual plate

TIP – If serving this salad as an appetizer, I suggest estimating around 2 cups of mesclun/spinach per person.

Directions:

1. Wash the mesclun or spinach leaves. Let air dry. Slice the onion thinly and then cut in halves. Cut the pear in half longitudinally. Cut again in half and remove the center. Thinly slice the 2 pear pieces.

2. For the assembly: first layer the spinach, then the pears (I like to arrange them into a circle b/c it looks more elegant), then the onions, crumbled goat cheese (if using), cranberries and last but not least the chopped pecans.


What are some of your favorite Autumn flavors? how about recipes?

3 thoughts on “{Autumn is here: Bosc Pear & Glazed Pecan Salad}

  1. Pingback: {Quick vegetarian lunch: Apple, Spinach, Almond & Swiss Quesadilla} | Healthy Happy & Whole

Leave a Reply

