{An apology, an explanation, and a comforting Soup Recipe}

I would like to begin this post by apologizing for the lack of recent posts. I’ve had the “bad luck” of having two consecutive health related issues that led to my hospitalization this past week. Thanks to my healthy diet and my strong Hemoglobin levels I didn’t have to stay hospitalized for long but I am bed ridden until tomorrow. Thanks to God and/or good luck, my husband had scheduled a vacation for this week and has been able to help around a lot and take me to the multiple doctor appointments and scheduled labs. My lovely husband also helped me execute this comforting soup recipe – which is my go to recipe when I am feeling down, when there is cold climate or when my stomach can’t take anything else. I’ve been taking so many pills for the past 2 weeks that my taste buds have become lost in the process and my gastrointestinal system is starting to suffer…however, lucky for me I’ve been cooking up this recipe for a while now…So without further explanations here’s my recipe!

{Comforting (and Healthy) Tuscan Soup}

Summary: 

I call this my Comforting Tuscan Soup. I am no chef. But white beans, and carrots make me think of Tuscany. This 100% natural, low fat soup is perfect healthy way of calming an upset stomach. Additionally the potatoes and vegetables help stabilized and coat the stomach. If beans usually cause you gastric upset, skip this ingredient…but since they are an essential part of my diet…I find them filling, flavorful and comforting. Hope you enjoy this recipe as much as I do. It has become a family favorite. NOTE – if you like pureed soup, go ahead…this can be made into the perfectly creamy & thick soup. I however prefer to chop finely all the ingredients and savor them piece by piece in a spoonful. The choice is yours! For more options don’t forget to read my “final touches” section. I usually combine some soup puree with the remaining chunky soup.
Ingredients:

1 can of white beans
1 medium yellow squash
7 medium sized red potatoes
1 small white onion
12 mini carrots
5 fresh basil leaves
1.5 tbsp extra virgen olive oil
1 L water
salt, to taste
1/2 tsp pepper
1/4 tsp garlic powder
1/4 tsp pumpkin spice
1/4 tsp dried dill

Directions:

1. PREP:
Wash all of the vegetables. Slice and then quarter the squash. Chop the onion finely. Cut each the potato into 6-8 pieces (these will help them cook faster). Chop the 9 of the mini carrots to the desired size. (I like them very small in my soup but that’s just my taste). Toss the remaining carrots (without chopping them) into a large non-stick soup pan. I scoop them out and puree them later on to give to soup an orange color. Chop the basil. Pour everything into the soup pan.

2. Turn the stove to high heat. Add the oil and cook the vegetables for about 5-7 min, stirring in between.

3. Add the can of white beans. Add the water and seasonings. Mix well. Let cook on high for about 10-15min or until the water has begun to boil and about 1/3 of the liquid has evaporated. Now switch to medium low heat.

4. The longer you leave the soup simmer in low heat the more flavor it will have. I usually leave it about 10-15 extra minutes in low heat until I see the liquid has reduced by HALF. Then I proceed to add the final touches.

5. FINAL TOUCHES:
Remove about 1 cup of the soup with its contents (be sure to include the whole carrots). Let cool slightly. Puree in a blender or with a food processor with 1/3 of liquid (use skim milk or water). NOTE – it’s important to let cool before using an electric appliance because you can get burned in the process!! I you want your soup to be more liquid, continue adding milk/water until achieving the desired consistency.

6. Pour the puree back into the soup. Mix gently until the color appears uniform. Taste. Adjust seasonings if necessary. (I didn’t need to).

7. GARNISH: with fresh basil and/or parmesan on top.

Servings: 4-6 (Depends if you eat it as a main dish or as a starter).

3 thoughts on “{An apology, an explanation, and a comforting Soup Recipe}

Leave a Reply

