{Yummy breakfast/snack spread: Banana-raisin nut butter}

Summary: 
I am obsessed with peanut butter. It’s my favorite nut spread. I have it for breakfast with toast, add it to my smoothies or snack on it with fresh or dry fruit. Its savory and packed with protein. It also has such a long shelf life, plus it’s made with NATURAL and SIMPLE ingredients. No man made chemicals or preservatives (at least in the ones I buy – I suggest you read the labels – all nut butters are not created equal). I also love bananas, cinnamon and raisins….I mean it’s a classic combination of flavors. Well I decided to blend them all with nut butter for the sake of adding variety to my meals. Feel free to add any other nutritious add ins like chia seeds or flax seed. You can also add a pinch of salt if you find the nut butter too sweet. Enjoy. . . This recipe is super simple, no fancy ingredients, no cooking skills required. Just blend and spread. Plus you can always mix it up and make with different kinds of nut butters.

Ingredients:
1/2 cup creamy peanut butter
1 fresh banana (medium sized)
2 tbsp chocolate soy milk or almond milk or reduced fat milk (I used the chocolate soy milk***so yummy) 
1/4 cup raisins
1/2 tsp cinnamon

Directions:
1. Using a food processor combine all ingredients until creamy-smooth! Can also mix by hand. TIP – if doing by hand heat the nut butter 10 seconds in the microwave prior to mixing so its more pliable.

2. Store in the refrigerator for up to 1 week. Enjoy with whole grain toast, bagels, crackers, raw veggies or banana chips for a healthy breakfast or snack! I garnished the spread with peanuts – you can always add in chopped nuts if you like the crunchy consistency.

Banana-raisin PB Banana-raisin PB Banana-raisin PB Banana-raisin PB Banana-raising PB

How cute is this little snacking solution? Mini whole wheat toasts + PB = yumminess….Plus it’s lunchbox friendly. Just drop a spoonful of the PB + add a small serving of toasts into a small container. Then carry in your bag for work/school/the road.

What is your favorite kind of nut butter? And how do you eat it?

 

5 thoughts on “{Yummy breakfast/snack spread: Banana-raisin nut butter}

  1. MMMM! I LOVE PEANUT BUTTER TOO! UNTIL I READ YOUR POST I THOUGHT MY LOVE FOR THE STUFF WAS GENETICALLY INHERITED. MY MOM USED TO LOVE THE STUFF TOO. IN FACT I USED TO JOKE THAT SHE HAD SUCH LETHAL “PEANUT BUTTER BREATH” THAT ALL THEY WOULD HAVE TO DO IS STAND HER IN THE FRONT LINES AND PUT A FAN BEHIND HER AND THE (Substitute appropriate enemy) WOULD SURRENDER RIGHT AWAY.

    • I’ve tried almond butter but find it too bland. However it works well with recipes…. About making ur own, let me confess I tried that and damaged my food processor. It’s not hard because you only need a few ingredientes; the challege is having a powerful machine to process the nuts!

Leave a Reply

