{Honey teriyaki sauce: an easy solution to a weeknight meal}


Honey Teriyaki Salmon

Summary: 

Okey so.. I know it’s meatless monday and I made an amazing Apple-carrot Quinoa Salad that I wanted to share with you but I left my recipe back home. I have a little chalkboard next to my stove where I like to jot down the recipes I create while I cook….Sometimes I forget to write down key ingredients and I am so sorry for that but its part of the creative process – adding a little bit of this or that just until the flavors blend in perfect harmony…at least for my taste buds!! So where am I? I am currently at my husband’s family beach house studying for my second medical board (step 2). It’s a routine: wake up early, have breakfast with a nice view – blogging in today’s agenda, studying, lunch, more studying, exercise, more cooking, quality time with my hubby and lovely dog (who am I kidding he watches me study and I pet him constantly to reduce stress; the dog not the husband…or both?) and sometimes even more studying after that. I would love to share a pic of this lovely view with you just so you decompress a bit too…and of my adorable mut named Fritz!

Puerto Rico

Fritz

So after sharing some thoughts and pics… let me talk to you about this AWESOME SAUCE. For those who have dined at Macaroni grill – one of the few healthy alternatives I like to choose is the honey teriyaki salmon, but instead of ordering it with the orzo, I order plain spaghetti to go with it. The sauce is so savory, and the salmon is literally drenched in it…so plain pasta works perfectly because it highlights the sauce’s flavors. So after several attempts to recreate this sauce in a healthier way…I came up with this version. This recipe makes enough sauce for 4 fish/poultry/meat servings….however if you want to eat it Macaroni Grill’s healthified style- serve with WHOLE WHEAT SPAGHETTI…it’s enough for 2 servings of marinated fish plus some extra sauce to drizzle over the plain pasta.

So let me talk to you a bit about the importance of fiber. I’ve talked about it several times before but will like to recall that it not only regulates your bowel habits, and detoxes your gastrointestinal system by flushing out the toxins (especially after a long weekend of unhealthy habits)…but it also helps prevent hemorrhoids, avoid bouts of diverticulitis and LOWER your blood pressure. Did you know that the MOST effective way to lower you blood pressure is NOT by using a pill but by adopting the “DASH diet” ?! This is actually what they teach us in med school but most doctors are not prepared to talk about this and opt for the easiest solution; giving a pill. This diet basically consists on adding more fiber, fruits, veggies and lean protein into your diet. No surprise there. If you want more information about this diet plan, check out the National Heart, Lung and Blood Institute’s guideline HERE. 

{Honey Teriyaki Sauce}

Ingredients:
1/4 cup low sodium soy sauce
1/4 cup teriyaki sauce
1 tbsp ginger root, grated
1 tbsp honey
1 tbsp clove(s) (medium) garlic clove(s)
1/4 tsp ground cayenne pepper
12 ounces or (2) uncooked salmon fillets, with or without skin
1 tbsp sesame seeds or more to sprinkle over cooked fish or other protein

Serving suggestions: lime wedges, whole wheat spaghetti/linguini or brown rice, steamed broccoli

Directions:
1. Place all the sauce ingredients in a zip-lock plastic bag. Squeeze out the air and seal the bag. Shake or whisk until the sauce is well mixed. Pour out and reserve about 1/2 of the sauce (if making the spaghetti). Place salmon filets inside the bag. Refrigerate, turning the bag occasionally for up to 24 hours. The more it marinates the richer the flavors….However I have made this with just 30 min of marinade and it still tastes amazing.

2. If making the spaghetti side dish; boil the pasta according to directions before proceeding to the next step.

3. Spray the grill rack or skillet with nonstick cooking spray. Preheat the grill or set the stove to medium-high.  Remove the salmon from the marinade. Place the salmon on the grill rack or skillet. Cook until the salmon is just opaque in the center, 4-5 minutes on each side. If needed, add some water to prevent the fish from burning – the steam will also help the fish cook thoroughly if you place a lid on top.

4. Sprinkle fish with sesame seeds, spring onions or chives. Serve with brown rice or whole wheat spaghetti plus your favorite vegetable side. Plate with lime wedges. Use remaining sauce to drizzle over the plain pasta or rice (I served mine in 2 mini expresso cups…they look so cute don’t they?)

Serving size = 1 fillet & 1/2 cup rice or pasta.

Honey Teriyaki Salmon

Honey Teriyaki Salmon

Like this dinner idea? Check out my Mango-basil chutney recipe HERE. It also works wonders with ANY type of protein and it’s perfect for the summer since it’s so fresh. If you don’t like peach, you can make a strawberry-mango chutney or just replace the amount of peach with more mango.

Leave a Reply

