Food for thought

merry xmas
Hello Readers!
 
First of all Happy Holidays. I just started my Christmas break before entering my LAST semester as a medical student. I can’t believe I’ve gotten so far, so fast. I know many of you get some extra time just about now too…So in order to stay inspired and somewhat healthy during the Holiday Season I wanted to share some of my current inspiration with you.
Do you have Netflix? If so I suggest watching TED Talks… Don’t have a membership? They have tons of inspirational talks over their website. Click HERE to access it. They continuously search for people fighting for “ideas worth spreading.” Moreover they have tons of topics to stir your curiosity and get you learning about both global and local issues. My favorite topic? Health of course. They have over 104 “talks” on this subject alone. If you are interested in learning more about what’s wrong with the food we eat today, check out these 5 videos HERE. I highly recommend checking out Jamie Oliver‘s talk. His story is so inspiring and it provides a great example on how you could contribute to public health issues that are affecting the US. Let me share his vision with you:

  “I wish for everyone to help create a strong, sustainable movement to educate every child about food, inspire families to cook again and empower people everywhere to fight obesity.” -JAMIE OLIVER

I have to admit I got teary-eyed when he said this, since this is my vision too. As a future Family Physician I wish to empower my patients to do the same. To take control of their lives and the lives of their children and attack our health issues at the core. Our households.

Looking for a good read? I recommend Brain Rules by John Medina. It’s a book about 12 principles for surviving and thriving at work, home and school. It teaches you, in simple terms, how your brain works and how to maximize its potential. This author highlights some important concepts about our daily lives: sleep and stress. He explains how these affect our brain, our learning process and our health. Furthermore, he also stresses on the importance of exercise and how it is a great and underutilized prevention tool. I won’t tell you more because you should read it!

So there you have 2 of my major inspiration sources right now. Coming up soon: a light and fresh recipe, with both Peruvian and Caribbean influences. Stay tuned for my Lemon-Coconut Ceviche Recipe. So versatile you can eat it with boiled or roasted root vegetables, stuff into lettuce wraps or even tacos. Here’s a sneak peak below:

Ceviche tacos

Have a holly-jolly Christmas break!!

-HHW

Leave a Reply

